Noncommittal commitment.

August 29, 2008
I want them all.

I want them all.

Hello, all,

This is my umpteenth blog. Yes, umpteenth. Yes, I am one of those people who starts a blog, gets into a great kick and then bites the dust. Yep — that’s me in a nutshell. Yes, I am warning you now, as I start another blog. I am Raquel, generally noncommittal. (It’ll make sense later.)

I’m not noncommittal in relationships, silly. I’ve had the same boyfriend for the past year and a half, and before that, the same one for the past two years (quite good for a commitophobe, eh?). But I’m a commitophobe in that I’ve never been incredibly attached to or fascinated by any particular thing.

I feel like every other person has that “thing” that they call “theirs”: be it tennis, clothing, reading, kittens or cupcakes. Those things could all translate easily into blogs. But me, I like all of those things, probably equally, for different reasons. I’d never choose one thing above the other.

The only thing I can think to blame it on is my being an Army brat my entire life. Constantly moving to a new place, and, just upon getting settled, cramming everything into a cardboard box and moving on to another place to (sort of) live.

The only thing that stands above the other things, for me, is writing. My last blog was, literally, a writing blog, where I only wrote serious pieces. That was too hard. That was too straight-and-narrow for spastic ‘ole me. And way too boring for readers.

So here’s one that better suits me (and you). I like food, I like books, I like fashion, I like news, I like movies, I like the beach, I like art, I like photos, I like design, I like the outdoors, I like culture, I like rainbows, I like (OK, maybe love) dessert, I like smelling all the bottles of shampoo and body wash in the grooming aisle (and in friends’ showers). But overall, I like writing. So I’ll write about them all, when they strike me.

The end. (Until something strikes me.)

One Response to “Noncommittal commitment.”

  1. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

